The IRS is giving taxpayers an updated Bill of Rights.

The federal tax agency has reworked the list of rights that is part of Publication 1.  The list includes:

  1. The right to be informed.
  2. The right to quality service.
  3. The right to pay no more than the correct amount of tax.
  4. The right to challenge the IRS's position and be heard.
  5. The right to appeal an IRS decision in an independent forum.
  6. The right to finality.
  7. The right to privacy.
  8. The right to confidentiality.
  9. The right to retain representation.
  10. The right to a fair and just tax system.

The revamped list was a top priority of National Taxpayer Advocate Nina Olsen in her most recent Annual Report to Congress.

Publication 1 is available to anyone, and is automatically mailed to taxpayers whose return is being audited and to those the IRS contacts for collection purposes.