Listen Live on  


The 80s to Now

State Will Provide Money To Flood Victims

State Will Provide Money To Flood Victims
Posted July 17th, 2013 @ 1:23pm by Kevin Schenk

Gov. Andrew Cuomo says the state will provide $16 million to homeowners, business operators and farmers in some of the upstate counties slammed by recent severe flooding.

Cuomo says Herkimer County will get $4 million, Madison County will get $3 million, Oneida County will get $3 million, Niagara County will get $2 million and Montgomery County will get $4 million.

However, seven counties that were also declared disaster areas weren't included in Cuomo's announcement.

They are Allegany, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Otsego and Warren. The Cuomo administration had no immediate comment on why New Yorkers from those counties have apparently been left out.

Meanwhile, Sen. Chuck Schumer is pushing the state to appeal a decision by the Federal Emergency Management Agency not to provide assistance. Schumer calls the decision wrongheaded.

Recommended Stories

More from Y94